Detailed schedule

GDES-270 fall 2020 (David Ramos, American University Design)
ramos@american.edu · office hours

Tue, Aug 25 / Wed, Aug 26

Week 01

📅

Intro

In class

  • Intros (via Miro board)
  • About this course

Projects

Tue, Sept 1 / Wed, Sept 2

Week 02

📅

Framing

Reading

In this course, finish the assigned reading by Tuesday (§001) or Wednesday (§003).

Projects

  • Finish your initial map from part 3 of Mapping/tour, by the start of class on Tuesday (§001) or Wednesday (§003). Upload an image to Miro (see Blackboard §001/§003 for link).
  • Look over everyone else’s initial maps.
  • Continue work on Mapping/tour. (Each week, be working steadily on current projects.)

Course survey

Fill out an eight-question survey.

The § symbol means “section.”

Followups from class

Tue, Sept 8 / Wed, Sept 9

Week 03

📅

Typography

In class

Demo text (txt)

Reading

You’ll use these tools in the next project.

Projects

  • Final critique for Mapping/tour. (Tue §002, Wed §003.) Turn in on Blackboard, and upload an image to the same Miro board as last week.
  • Start Type flyer

Illustrator background

If you’re working in Illustrator and you’d prefer more background, watch the Illustrator tutorial on LinkedIn Learning. (Sign in to LinkedIn Learning using your AU credentials.)

Tue, Sept 15 / Wed, Sept 16

Week 04

📅

Visual

In class

Reading

Projects

  • Critique for Type flyer

We may critique projects in any class. Always be prepared to present your work as it stands.

Tue, Sept 22 / Wed, Sept 23

Week 05

📅

Color

Reading

Projects

In-class color exercise

Part I/II: Design palettes that respond to each of these prompts: energetic, resolute, natural, and calm.

Part III: Create a color palette for a food truck affiliated with Woodberry Kitchen and Artifact Coffee.

Tue, Sept 29 / Wed, Sept 30

Week 06

📅

Scale + space

Reading

  • DIS: Persona, Affordance
  • 99% Invisible, Ubiquitous Icons (listen to podcast episode or read transcript, and review images in article)
  • Work through the Bézier Game, which will help you gain control of the pen tool and drawing curves.

Projects

  • For Graphic translation: Choose an object from the list, sketch it to select an orientation, and make initial versions of your line, solid, and tone drawings using Figma or Illustrator.

Tue, Oct 6 / Wed, Oct 7

Week 07

📅

Sustainable design

Reading

  • DIS: Multisensory, Behavioral Economics
  • Victor Papanek and James Hennessey, How Things Don’t Work, “No Roast Tonight—the Lights on My Carving Knife Need Realignment”
  • Michael Braungart and US architect William McDonough, Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things
  • Packaging basics

Projects

Tue, Oct 13 / Wed, Oct 14

Week 08

📅

Reading

  • Victor Papanek and James Hennessey, How Things Don’t Work, “Share Your Lawn Mower, Lady?”
  • Packaging basics
  • Michael Braungart and US architect William McDonough, Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things

Tue, Nov 3 / Wed, Nov 4

Week 11

📅

Case study

Reading

  • Andrew Shea, Designing for Social Change: Project Winterfood, Vendor Power

Tue, Nov 10 / Wed, Nov 11

Week 12

📅

Design fiction

Reading

  • DIS: Design Fiction
  • Bill McKibben, Hello from the Year 2050
  • Bonnie Siegler, Signs of Resistance: A Visual History of Protest in America

Projects

Tue, Dec 1 / Wed, Dec 2

Week 15

📅

Semifinal critique

Reading

Projects

  • Share Designer series

Sat, Dec 12

📅

Exams end

Projects

  • Poster is due at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 10.

The first date on each week is for Section 001, and the second date, for Section 003.